ULTIMATE AIR DOGS
Welcome to the ULTIMATE AIR DOGS Message Board!

New competitor....question!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Dont Miss! New competitor....question!

Post by Liesje on Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:25 am

I live in Grand Rapids and I am new to dock diving. I trained my GSD to jump off a dock a few summers ago but we only had access to a normal dock and lake once a year, and for a while he would not jump into a clear pool. I took him to a friend's pool yesterday and he went in just fine, even off the diving board. I've already entered him in five splashes at the UKC Premier. My friend told me that you enter the event but do not pay until you check in and are able to cancel your entry beforehand if there is a problem (for example I would be canceling my entry today if he refused to jump into the pool yesterday). My question is, what happens if you go to the event and your dog simply refuses to jump that day for whatever reason, do you still have to pay the $125? What I did was enter my dog for the last two splashes on Friday and then three splashes on Saturday and am hoping that he will go in the training pool on Friday morning and be OK. Does this sound like a reasonable plan? Oh, he went to a previous Premier and already has experience swimming in the pool and playing with toys on the platform, he just wouldn't jump off that year. Yesterday at the clear pool I did not even show him the water, I just toss the Wubba and he went right in and was fine. I'm told it's common for dogs to be more wary of the clear pool, I'm just not sure how else I can proof this other than the morning of the event since all of our other dock access is lakes and rivers which have never been a problem.